Hi dpeca,
I've very recently discovered myvesta and I'm thrilled to test it out on my new node.
However, I'd like a suggestion on my disk setup.
My node has a 480gb ssd and a big storage in raid5 (11 disks, 7200rpm HDDs)
my current plan is to install debian10 on the ssd while the raid5 is mounted at /home
Problem is, I'm afraid that I won't be using my ssd at all for any of the sites hosted on the server.
would you recommend me doing something else?
Recommended disk setup?
- myVesta
- Site Admin
- Posts: 908
- Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:59 am
- Has thanked: 8 times
- Been thanked: 6 times
How much space actually you need?
Maybe to install everything on SSD, and symlinking /backup to HDD?
Later you can also move other static folders (like /home/user/mail/ and /home/web/domain.com/public_html/wp-content/uploads/) to HDD, and just symlinking it...
I'm doing it for shared hosting servers.
Maybe to install everything on SSD, and symlinking /backup to HDD?
Later you can also move other static folders (like /home/user/mail/ and /home/web/domain.com/public_html/wp-content/uploads/) to HDD, and just symlinking it...
I'm doing it for shared hosting servers.
Is it possible to have some domains on /home directory and some on /var/www or some other dir not on /home?
It's a big storage node that will actively read static files to serve via HTTPS.
But since I have spare CPU and bandwidth, I'm thinking about hosting some small WordPress sites on the same server.
It's a big storage node that will actively read static files to serve via HTTPS.
But since I have spare CPU and bandwidth, I'm thinking about hosting some small WordPress sites on the same server.
- myVesta
- Site Admin
- Posts: 908
- Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:59 am
- Has thanked: 8 times
- Been thanked: 6 times
Unfortunately, no.
But with symlinking you can symlink even whole account, for example /home/user/ -> /hdd/user/
Or as I already suggested, only specific folders like /home/user/mail/ or /home/web/domain.com/public_html/wp-content/uploads/
hey dpeca,
I need another suggestion here
I did the symlink setup but my php application now shows this
so I did chown and chmod 777 to the symlink but it still seems to be the same case.
0 lrwxrwxrwx 1 admin admin 21 Jun 3 12:46 folder-> /hdd/folder/
I need another suggestion here

I did the symlink setup but my php application now shows this
Code: Select all
Put / get / chmod / delete operations failed, insufficient permissions possible
0 lrwxrwxrwx 1 admin admin 21 Jun 3 12:46 folder-> /hdd/folder/
- myVesta
- Site Admin
- Posts: 908
- Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:59 am
- Has thanked: 8 times
- Been thanked: 6 times
maybe open_basedir restrictions?
you can alter open_basedir this way - viewtopic.php?f=18&t=54
add /hdd/user/ in open_basedir
other thing you can do is:
you can alter open_basedir this way - viewtopic.php?f=18&t=54
add /hdd/user/ in open_basedir
other thing you can do is:
Code: Select all
chown -R user:user /home/user/
find /home/user/ -type d -exec chmod 755 {} +
find /home/user/ -type f -exec chmod 644 {} +