Thanks dpeca for the VestaCP fork!

deanhills

@dpeca

So I finally did the deed. I changed from CentOS 7 to Debian 9, so I could try out the myVesta Fork. I can't believe the difference in speed between CentOS and Debian. What a difference this is.

I've been using VestaCP for years now - since 2014. And realized over the last two years that VestaCP had security issues. So the last week I was exploring alternatives. First alternative was CyberPanel. And what a heavy monster that was. Compared with VestaCP it was totally overwhelming. I found even with a VPS that had 8 GB RAM and 88 GB disk space that the panel was dragging. There were bugs as well. It felt as though the panel was taking everything over. I then finally ditched CyberPanel.

Next I tried the Belgian Fork of VestaCP, but while trying to install the script, it asked for Java. I wasn't prepared to load Java as I find that a security risk. At that time I could have tried myVestaCP, but I have been using CentOS for a number of years, and thought Debian would be a large learning curve.

Next project was to see whether I could get my WordPress sites to run from the command line with a LAMP stack with CentOS 7. I went through hours and hours and HOURS of tutorials trying to make the privileges and rewrites work, but it was a total disaster in the end. So I aborted this project as well. It was not a complete lost cause though, as in the process I got to learn how to install and use MariaDB and how the inner workings of it worked. And all of that served me well when in myVesta version of VestaCP the phpmyadmin didn't want to open on root. So it was easy to set up a non root user. And luckily it worked out and I'm now able to access phpmyadmin much safer.