Plugin Remains Installed After Backup Restoration – Why?

Post Reply
User avatar
Meister
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2021 10:04 am

Hello everyone,

I experienced an interesting phenomenon on my WordPress site last night and am hoping to find some explanation or help here.

At 23:10, I created a complete backup of my site, labeled with the date and time "2024-05-09_23-10-36". At 23:49, I installed a new plugin to test some features. Shortly afterward, at 23:55, I decided to roll back to the backup I had made since I was not satisfied with the plugin. The restoration of the backup was successfully completed ("restore has been completed").

Surprisingly, the plugin was still installed on my site even though it definitely was not included in the 23:10 backup. Does anyone have any idea how this could have happened? Is there something I might have overlooked?

Thank you in advance for your help!
User avatar
Meister
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2021 10:04 am

Hi,

I tested it again and selected the web and the database in the panel during restoration. The plugin installed after the backup was created was still present. Apparently, the web is not deleted beforehand, and the files from the backup are simply uploaded, which results in existing files remaining. This should be urgently corrected as backups and imports should work 100%.

Best regards
Post Reply